Not Again… Aaargh!

10 August 2011


Another night,
Awake till light,
In search of sleep elusive

And for my mind,
I try to find,
For rest, something conducive.

I get engrossed
With online posts.
Blog poets are collusive!

By writing well,
They do excel
In poems so obtrusive

And so instead,
I clutch my head.
Aghast, for it’s conclusive.

How sick am I,
To let sleep fly?
For poetry abusive!

I need help…

12 Responses to “Not Again… Aaargh!”

  1. TheMsLvh said

    I admire the fact that you rhyme. There are very few of us left.
    I have been known to loose sleep reading these poetry blogs, I feel for ya! Liked the form you used on this poem.

    • Pervagus said

      Thanks! 🙂 It is such a puzzlement for me why free verse tends to trump blank verse and both are far more written than rhymed verse. Not that I don’t understand, appreciate, like or use those types of poetry, but it just smacks of convenience in most cases. Personally I write in free verse as a special exception, and I am far more drawn to well written, well formed, (and normally therefore rhyming) poems, as I can already assume the writer had put effort into the work. Hence why I love your poems! 🙂

  2. I enjoyed it greatly! Good one!

  3. Tilly Bud said

    Good one! We’ve all been there 🙂

  4. Sorry you couldn’t sleep again!!! But I enjoy the results of your sleeplessness again! *smile*

  5. glad to read the result of your fits of sleeplessness, and thanks again for stopping by Her Effing Blog. your comments are great.

    my favorite things about your poetry is that I can relate.

    • Pervagus said

      Thanks for reading Eva. Although I can’t really relate to what you write about on your Effing Blog, it does make me laugh lots. Very witty. Great partner to your subject matter 🙂

  6. Emily said

    Poetry abuse. Where do I sign up for PA meetings (Poetryoholics Anonymous)?

Leave a Reply

