Memory (Have I been here before?)…

10 September 2011


Now where am I? Have I been here before?
I’ve been here I think, but I can’t say
I must try hard and remember more!
Oh brain! Why do you forget this way?

I’ve been here I think, but I can’t say
Strange yet familiar this is for sure
Oh brain! Why do you forget this way?
Why can’t my memories endure?

Strange yet familiar this is for sure
Haven’t I already just said that?
Why can’t my memories endure?
Oh balloon of a brain! You’re getting flat!

Haven’t I already just said that?
No wait! I haven’t actually!
Oh balloon of a brain! You’re getting flat!
I know I must have better memory!

No wait! I haven’t actually!
I must try hard and remember more!
I know I must have better memory!
Now where am I? Have I been here before?

~ Submitted to dVerse FormForAll – Pantoum

20 Responses to “Memory (Have I been here before?)…”

  1. I like this! I can totally relate because my memory for certain things is terrible. (Other things I seem to never be able to forget). The repetition of lines of the pantoum form is perfect for this subject. Peace, Linda

    • Pervagus said

      I’m like that too. I can remember some things so clearly, but forget what I was doing a couple of hours ago! Thanks for your lovely comment Linda. Pax Vobis! 🙂

  2. Jo Bryant said

    i agree with the other comment about how the use of repetition in this form emphasises the tale

    • Pervagus said

      Thanks for reading Jo. I was writing about a completely different subject when it struck me while reading the same line twice, it was like I forgot what I had just said, so I turned it into this instead, because it was like I forgot what I had just said! 🙂

  3. lori said

    I do hate when my brain doesn’t work right for me. And, speaking of memories, I don’t think I’ve visited here before, but forgive me if I don’t remember correctly. This was much fun, and it was nice to meet you 🙂

    • Pervagus said

      Thanks Lori. I’ll be different and say I hate it when my brain DOES work right. That means I’m working to pay the bills – No fun there! Thanks for visiting here. Hope you’ll come back. But I’ll be back to your blog for sure. You have great writing on there 🙂

  4. brian said

    ha. this is the first one with humor for me…my first thought was the movie memento where he tattoes himself to remember…anyway effective and to form. enjoyed.

    • Pervagus said

      Thanks Brian, glad you could see the funny side to it. I was struggling to write in form about a serious subject to be honest, and didn’t want to deviate on my first pantoum. Memento was a great film. Must go and watch it again. Thanks! 🙂

  5. Gay said

    Well I’m not that far gone yet – but I feel that way when things get lost. I think I’m on the brink of losing my mind.

    As has been stated before you worked the repetitions so well for both humor and to emphasize the topic. Very well done!

    • Pervagus said

      Thank you Gay, and thank you for your great article on this poetic form. Had never tried it before (still trying to do a proper Villanelle), so it was great reading other people’s work at dVerse. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  6. How fun! You did a great job with this Pantoum. I was getting the feeling of Deja Vu with this poem. Then it focused on memory, both having to do with remembering. This is fun for the first poem of the morning! Thanks for writing this posting.

    • Pervagus said

      I was going round in circles, hopefully understandable since it was like 3am in the morning and I had just come home, massively sleep deprived from the week and with a very heavy head! Thanks for reading MsLVH. Always a pleasure 🙂

  7. hobgoblin2011 said

    Really nicely done. I love the form and really like the way you used it. Excellent write also, thanks for sharing, glad I got to experience it

  8. lots of questions! Fine pantoum

  9. This was indeed fun! Thanks for the memory! Could not help myself. Good write and I liked all the excitement with punctuation
    perks up reads. Thank you

Leave a Reply

